Become a customer

Apply for METRO card

Imported Food

Let METRO inform you with information about imported food including cheese, milk, chocolate, biscuit and wine.



More information about imported food

  • Imported Food Strategy

    "Direct purchase at the source" is the pivotal strategy at the Imported Food Department. Most of the imported merchandise at METRO is sourced directly from suppliers, which will not only make it possible to access more and greater item categories but also help achieve a better price, thus reducing cost. More importantly, it will ensure that METRO provides authentic local products to professional customers. 

  • Distinctive feature of imported food in item category

    We first set sights on the A-list brand products bearing unique characteristics of the source country. The market research conducted in China and customer feedback show that our customers expect to gain insights into unique characteristics and culture when purchasing authentic imported goods from METRO. Thus, we consider retaining more design and text introduction from the origin on the packaging. Over the past few years, we have introduced a wide variety of products bearing the geographic traits of European countries; in the future, we intend to bring in more items from Asian countries, meeting the consumption demands of our clients.

  • METRO's advantages in imported food against our competitors

    Direct purchase at the source, ample supplier resources and competitive price shape the competitive edge of METRO's imported food. Imported Food at METRO stands firm on importing merchandise from the source and integrating global supplier resources, to attain price advantage and benefit our customers. At METRO stores, we put imported food at concentrated display with special labels, so that our customers can easily locate their desired items.

In recent years, imported food has gradually emerged as a stand-out performer of METRO's Asian business, especially in China, which captures 55% of imported food sales revenue in the entire Asia-Pacific, with an annual growth of 20-30%. When talking about the bright prospect of imported food sales, we must mention that of the imported milk, whose success lends testimony to METRO's competitiveness in the imported food market.

 

From 2009-2012, sales of imported milk in China surged from 3,400 cartons (1 carton = 12 packs x 1 L) per month to 68,000 cartons per month, a whopping 200% annual growth registered. Among others, METRO's imported milk has won the heart and mind of customers with its high quality and competitive price.

 

Colleagues at Imported Food have made their special contribution to charting the course of importing milk to China. Beginning in 2009, Imported Food started introducing German A-class milk brand MUH aligning with the needs of Chinese customers; In 2010, METRO introduced the imported milk of its own brand FINE FOOD; in 2011, in response to the differentiated demand of customers, METRO introduced the lactose-free MUH milk; in the first half of 2012, targeting catering customers and trader business operators, METRO rolled out the 1L packed AKA imported milk. In addition, the imported milk in gift-set packaging catering to enterprises and public institutions is in the pipeline. This is set to be released by the end of this year.

 
Among the host of imported milk brands, FINE FOOD, the own brand of METRO, has made breakthrough success with its accurate brand positioning and price appeal (30% lower than that of A-class brands of identical quality). The newly unveiled AKA imported milk strives to offer the lowest price among imported milk brands with original packaging in China, thus ensuring the prime quality.

成为一名麦德龙顾客

申请麦德龙会员卡

进口食品

麦德龙向您展示各种进口食品信息,包括奶酪、牛奶、巧克力、饼干和葡萄酒等。  



更多进口食品

  • 进口食品部门的战略

    “源头直接采购”是进口食品部门最为重要的战略方针。麦德龙大多数的进口商品都是直接与供应商联系,这样可以采购到更多更完善的品项系列,并有助于达成更理想的价格,从而降低成本,更重要的是,能够保证向专业客户提供正宗的当地商品。

  • 进口食品在品项上具有的特色

    我们首选会具有各国特色的A类品牌产品。根据对中国市场的调查研究,以及客户的反馈,我们的客户更加期望在麦德龙采购到正宗的具有各国特色的进口商品同 时,能了解到各地特色及文化。因此,接下来我们会考虑在包装上更多地保留原产地的设计及文字介绍。过去几年中,我们已经引进很多了来自欧洲各国具有地理特 征的产品,今后,我们计划引进更多亚洲国家的商品,来满足客户的消费需求。

  • 与竞争对手相比,麦德龙进口食品的优势

    源头直接采购,丰富的供应商资源,以及具有竞争力的价格是麦德龙进口食品的优势。进口食品部门坚持从源头直接进口当地产品,整合全球的供应商资源,从而获 得优势价格,惠及我们的客户。在商场内,我们通过集中陈列进口食品,配以特殊标识等方式,方便我们的客户快速便捷地找到其所需的商品。

近年来,进口食品已逐渐成为亚洲麦德龙的一项重要且非常成功的业务分支,尤其在中国,进口食品的销售额占整个亚太销售的55%,其销售量每年以20- 30%的速度增长。而当说到进口食品销售的大好前景,就不得不提进口牛奶这一品项,其成功完全例证了麦德龙进口食品在市场上的竞争优势。
 
自2009至2012年全国进口牛奶的销量从每月3400箱(1箱=1L*12盒)增加至每月68000箱,平均年增长率达到200%,麦德龙的进口牛奶以其高品质及具有竞争优势的价格,受到越来越多的客户的青睐和认可。
 
在进口牛奶的“成长道路”上,进口食品部门的同事们倾注了他们的智慧和心血。自2009年开始引进德国A类牛奶品牌MUH牧牌,进口食品部门便开始致力于根据客户需求,找寻合适中国市场的产品。2010年建立FINE Food自有品牌进口牛奶,2011为了满足不同客户的差异化需求,引进了不含乳糖的MUH牧牌牛奶。2012年上半年,进口部门针对餐饮客户及商贸客户又进一步推出了1L装AKA进口牛奶。此外,适合于企事业单位客户的进口牛奶礼盒装也接在筹备中,计划于今年年底推出。
 
 在众多的麦德龙进口牛奶品牌中,自有品牌产品FINE Food进口牛奶,以其准确的品牌定位,同等于A类品牌的质量,以及低于A类品牌30%价格大获成功。而新近推出的Aka进口牛奶则将针对专业客户的需求,在保证上佳品质的同时,力争做到全国同类原装进口牛奶中的最低价