Corporate Social Responsibility

sustainable banner

METRO China’s sustainable development principal

From the day METRO entered the China market, METRO has committed itself to be a responsible corporate citizen by contributing to sustainable development. In performing responsible procurement, environment-friendly operation, low-carbon supply chain, care for workforce and social engagement, we have gradually developed the sustainable development strategy across the economic, environmental and social spectrums. We not only place attention on the growth of operation performance and its impact on the environment but also stress the harmonious ties between us, employees and our business partners.

METRO provides specialized training for farmers, helping them reduce the use of pesticides and agricultural chemicals in agricultural production; offers eco-friendly products, to steer customers toward environment-friendly consumption; makes heavy investment in comprehensive energy-saving revamp, implementing solar power generation projects; launches new refrigerant renovation program well ahead of peers, minimizing carbon emissions; emphasizes the care for our female employees and career development of the newly-recruited; leads China in opening the "Food Bank", delivering our care and concern to impoverished children and actively preparing for the building of METRO Hope Schools; reaches out in real time in the event of natural disasters.

sustainable development report1
sustainable development report2
sustainable development report3
sustainable development report4

METRO China CSR report 2016


Read online  2016 METRO China Sustainability report


Other than this, we also…

Forge sustainable supply chain

As one of the largest food traders in the world, METRO is entrusted to ensure the safety and sustainability of food supply for future generations. To fulfill this mission, METRO underlines the optimization and innovation on every segment along the food value chain, with Star Farm being one of the milestones.

Beginning at farming bases, water and soil quality goes through stringent inspection, employ eco-friendly production methods, rationally apply fertilizer, physically kill pests, optimize irrigation schemes, and reduce material consumption in packaging. We adopt innovative solutions like vacuum packaging and unbroken cold chain, and strive to minimize waste disposal; the integrated distribution system reduces the usage frequency of warehouse vehicles, while the optimized transportation routes realize the "shortest time span, least resources, and lowest carbon emissions" in logistics management; improved order system and storage equipment cut down on the food loss and spoilage at stores.

METRO spares no effort to extend these effective measures to the professional clients. By providing HACCP training for restaurants and canteens, METRO is joining hands with partners with an aim to enhance food safety awareness among consumers.

corporate-social-responsibility-i-300x225


Promoting local economic boom

METRO's business growth is closely related to the local economy. METRO has forged a close-knitted bond with Chinese manufacturers and local market through its unique B2B operation concepts, providing a reliable one-stop purchase route for small-sized enterprises. Such a business model has fueled the boom of domestic consumption, while METRO’s transparent invoicing mechanism effectively reins in black market trade. While expanding online sales, METRO is supporting local social infrastructure construction with the 3,000km-long Shanghai-Chengdu cold chain being one of the typical examples.

METRO has helped melon growers in Xinjiang to obtain IFS and Global GAP certifications, making their products comply with export standards, and shipping fresh seafood from Liaoning to the hotels and restaurants in Germany…Relying on METRO Group’s trading network across 33 countries worldwide, Chinese businesses have gone global in great strides, achieving increased profits. 


corporate-social-responsibility-ii-300x225

Engaging in local community building programs

METRO has been actively engaging with local communities by encouraging its workforce to participate in community activities. In 2010, METRO China, together with the Working Committee for the Care of the Next Generation, Chinese Multi-intelligence Education Association and Red Cross Youth Health Guidance Center, launched the "Safe Food, Happy Life" campaign targeting adolescents and teenagers, delivering a lively and interesting food safety class to over 1,500 children in China.

METRO has left its footprints in 39 large and medium-sized cities across China, lending its helping hand in times of emergency. In 2010, METRO Kunming Store employees delivered 10,000 bottles of purified drinking water to the drought-stricken areas of Yunnan; in the wake of 2008 devastating Wenchuan earthquake, METRO organized a company-wide fund-raising initiative, soliciting relief tents and supporting the reconstruction of the epicenter. METRO stores in Chengdu also initiated the voluntary blood-donating activity among employees and their relatives.

Strong sense of corporate social responsibility 

Noted for its strong sense of corporate social responsibility, METRO China not only acts as a reliable taxpayer and employer but also supports local eco-system construction, education development and community events.  



Role model of food safety

In 2007, in cooperation with the Ministry of Commerce and local authorities, METRO China spearheaded the project "Agri Food Sourcing Bases". In the framework of the project, METRO has developed the "Star Farm", an agricultural product sourcing base in Hefei, capital of Anhui province, which serves as a model in a bid to modernize agricultural production, improve food safety as well as advancing the farmers' living standards. At "Star Farm", METRO offers training to local farmers in standard processing and transparent management to control food quality from farm to fork.


Concern about environmental conservation

METRO China applies numerous innovations to reduce energy consumption and enhance environmental protection through implementing environmentally-friendly measures. We have adopted energy-saving illumination systems and outdoor street lamps at our parking lots are powered by solar energy; We use sliding glass covers in our frozen food departments and save up to one-sixth of the energy used by deep-freeze equipment; We also use ground-source heat pump air conditioning systems in our new wholesale centers. As a pioneer in the country, METRO also promotes environmental awareness. As early as 1996 when METRO opened its first store in China, it insisted on the paid use of carry-out plastic bags as the gesture of encouraging customers to utilize reusable shopping bags; on June 5, 2009, METRO China officially announced the ban of selling plastic bags in 54 stores across the country, reinforcing its leadership role in advocating eco-protection and sustainable consumption in China's trade arena.

成为一名麦德龙顾客

申请麦德龙会员卡

企业社会责任

sustainable banner
麦德龙中国的可持续发展理念

从进入中国市场那一天起,麦德龙作为一个负责任的企业公民,始终致力于不断探索可持续的发展模式。我们在负责任的采购、绿色运营、低碳供应链,关爱员工以及社会公益等领域身体力行,逐步形成了经济、环境和社会三者兼顾的可持续发展战略。我们不仅仅关注经营业绩的增长,也关注企业运营对环境的影响,同时更注重我们与员工以及合作伙伴的和谐共营关系。

麦德龙为农户提供专业培训,帮助他们在农业生产中减少化肥农药的使用;我们为客户提供生态友好型的商品,引导顾客的绿色消费;我们斥巨资进行全面节能改造,实施光伏发电项目;我们超前启动新型制冷剂改造工程,最大限度降低碳排放;我们关爱女性员工,关注年轻员工培养;我们率先在中国推行“食品银行”。我们关注贫困儿童,积极筹建麦德龙希望小学;在每一次自然灾害发生时,我们总在第一时间施以援手。

sustainable development report1
sustainable development report2
sustainable development report3
sustainable development report4

阅读完整2016麦德龙中国可持续发展报告

2016麦德龙中国可持续发展报告

在线阅读  下载报告(PDF 12.2M)


除此之外,还有.....


创建可持续供应链

作为全球最大的食品贸易商之一,麦德龙责无旁贷地坚持为子孙后代保障食品供应的安全可持续。为了履行这一使命,麦德龙注重食品价值链每一环节的优化创新,麦咨达即为其中创举之一。

以农场基地为起点,严格检测水质和土壤,采用环保生产方法,合理施肥、物理杀虫、优化灌溉,减少包装物料消耗;使用真空包装、全程冷链等创新方案,努力把废弃物排放减至最低;集中配送体系减少了仓库车辆使用频率,运输路线优化实现了物流管理三“最”:最短时间、最少资源、最低碳排放;完善订单系统和储藏设备减少商场食品损耗。
 
麦德龙不遗余力地将这些有效措施推广到专业客户身边。餐馆食堂HACCP培训,正是与合作伙伴的共同努力,旨在提高消费者食品安全意识。

食品安全快乐生活

促进本地经济繁荣

麦德龙的企业成长和本地经济息息相关。麦德龙用独树一帜的商对商经营理念把中国生产商和本地市场紧密链接,为小型企业提供可靠的一站式采购通路。这一业务模式大力推进了国内消费繁荣,而麦德龙透明发票体制更有效冲击了黑市交易。拓展销售网络的同时,麦德龙协助中国当地社会建设基础设施,从上海到成都的3000公里冷链就是典型案例之一。

帮助新疆本地瓜农通过IFS、Global GAP认证,使之符合出口标准;把辽宁水产商品送上远在德国的酒店餐桌……借助麦德龙集团在全球33个国家的贸易网络,中国企业成功走向世界,实现利润增值。


麦德龙中国爱心捐助
融入当地社区建设

麦德龙积极融入本地社区,鼓励员工参与社会公益活动。2010年,麦德龙中国携手中国“关心下一代”工作委员会、中国多元智能协会与红十字青少年健康指导中心,共同发起“安全食品·快乐生活”青少年食品安全教育大型系列活动,为约1500名中国儿童上了一堂生动有趣的“食品安全课”。

麦德龙现已涉足中国39个大中城市,当地人民一有危难,麦德龙总能及时伸出援手。2010年,麦德龙中国向云南灾区捐献10万瓶纯净水,由昆明商场员工亲自送至灾区滋润云南干旱。2008年汶川大地震,麦德龙组织员工捐款,紧急筹集救援帐篷,支持灾区重建,成都当地商场还自发组织员工及家属义务献血活动。

高度企业责任感
麦德龙中国具有高度的企业社会责任感,不仅是可靠的纳税人和雇主,也协助当地进行生态建设,发展教育,支持社会活动。

食品安全的典范

2007年,麦德龙中国与中国商业部和当地政府合作,积极投身于“农产品采购基地”这一项目。在该项目中,麦德龙开发了位于合肥的农产品采购基地示范项目麦咨达咨询有限公司,旨在使农业生产现代化,增加食品安全,提高农民生活水平。麦咨达咨询有限公司给当地农民提供诸如标准加工和透明管理方面的培训,希望能够在从农场到餐桌的整个过程中提高食品质量。

关注环境

麦德龙中国采用了众多新方法来节约能源,通过实施环保措施来保护环境。例如,公司采用了节能照明系统,户外停车场上的路灯采用太阳能技术进行供电。在冷冻食品部门使用玻璃移盖使得速冻设备节约了多达1/6的能源。此外,公司还为其新建的商场引进了地源热泵空调系统。在中国,作为行业的先锋,麦德龙也一直倡导环保意识。早在1996年,麦德龙在中国成立第一家商场时就坚持实行有偿使用购物塑料袋的做法,鼓励顾客少用塑料购物袋。从2009年6月5日起,麦德龙中国正式宣布在全国54家商场全面停止销售塑料袋,此举巩固了麦德龙在中国贸易领域倡导生态保护和可持续消费的领导地位。